Interstellar

★★★★★

“Anything that can happen, will happen.”

 I’m not usually one for ‘blockbusters’. I guess I don’t really like that word either. I would usually choose a low-budget Mike Leigh feature over a Hollywood money-guzzler. In this case, I have been presumptuous. Interstellar is a Hollywood, money-guzzling masterpiece. I contemplated for quite a while on whether I should attempt a ‘review’ on this or not. I know for a fact that seeing it in IMAX enhanced the experience but this film has left me completely and utterly speechless. The cinema was swamped in silence as the credits rolled; not in dislike, I hope, but in awe. How 170 minutes was sucked up in what felt like 90 is beyond me.

The film is set in the future, in a time where the Earth is becoming more and more inhabitable. The crops are dying out and soon, humans will run out of food. Farmer and engineer, Coop (Matthew McConaughey) lives in the ‘dust bowl’ of America with his two children – a daughter, Murphey and a son, Tom. As a widower, Coop values his children above anything else, taking them on spontaneous drives through corn fields and teaching them about the laws of physics. Meanwhile, Murph has a book-knocking ‘ghost’ in her room, supposedly sending her strategic messages. As the world becomes more desperate, an organisation ask Coop to pilot a mission to find a new world, a world that can support life.  He is forced to choose between his children, the people he would die for,  and the existence of the human race.

 I am not ashamed to admit I cried at least four times watching this. The score is unbelievable. Lord Zimmer just gets it. I sometimes wonder how difficult he finds creating a new score for different films, each with such crafted emotion and deliberate storytelling that you can almost reach out and touch each shot of the film the music is reciting. The most heartbreaking layer to the narrative has to be Coop and Murph’s relationship. The not knowing is the ugliest part. Like a father off to war, both Coop and Murph are bombarded with the realisation of their indefinite parting. Just thinking about their situation, I can feel the tears bubble in my eyes. How do you choose between the two people you hold most dear and the entire population?

It makes you think. The situation created isn’t entirely unfathomable. With the exponential increase of the Earth’s peoples and the finite resource of fossil fuels, how will be sustain life in years to come? Well, now, I have completely bought into the possibility of more distant space travel. In 2024, crews of four will depart every two years in an attempt to colonise Mars. Real people, with lives not dissimilar to Coop, will be taking a one way ticket to a whole new world, territory as yet unexplored by humans. If this is happening now,what’s to say Interstellar travel isn’t just around the corner, in a few generations time? Our children, grandchildren, could be witness to a whole new dimension of the universe that we now, may not even know exists. If that’s not enough to wet your filmic taste buds, I don’t know what is.

http://letterboxd.com/imogen/film/interstellar/ 

Leave a Reply

