The Beat That My Heart Skipped

The Beat That My Heart Skipped

★★★★☆

To be honest, Romain Duris is the only reason I watched this. After falling in love with his insatiable character in Populaire (god knows why), I had this uncontrollable craving for more of the man’s screen presence. He didn’t let me down. His character, Thomas, is a difficult one – so easy to hate but with that edge of sly charm that, despite the fact that I would 100% h̶a̶t̶e̶ strongly dislike the man if I knew him in ‘real life’, caught me in its trap where I fell to pretty deep levels of fondness.

 

Thomas is a real estate agent (of sorts – a job that is shown to be surprisingly brutal), and one day finds himself set with an audition to ultimately, become a concert pianist. He hires a young Chinese music graduate after a bizarre meeting with a man who miraculously has the answer to his one true need (a pretty lucky crossing of paths by cinema standards), who trains him everyday at 2pm. The only problem is, he speaks French; she speaks Chinese.

I felt the language barrier element wasn’t explored as much as it could have been. The scenes between the two characters are usually short and pretty passive but maybe that was the aim, emphasising their physical separation but musical connection. Or maybe I’m just being too fancy.

All in all, this film did weird things to my head and, impressively, my emotions.

 

Yes, I did cry.

The less said about that, the better…

Roll on Mood Indigo!

Leave a Reply

